What is a Criminal Record in Oregon?
A criminal record, also known as a rap sheet, is an official compilation of a person’s criminal history in Oregon. Generally, a criminal record contains information assembled from different Kentucky government agencies and criminal justice agencies. These include police departments, courts, and correctional facilities across the county and state jurisdictions. The standard for criminal record collection and storage varies from county to county. Still, most Oregon criminal records are organized in online record depositories maintained by the Oregon State Police.
While most records vary across different counties, criminal records general provide the following information:
- Subject’s name and any known aliases
- Date of birth
- Physical descriptors
- Records of any charges
- Arrest history
- Records of any warrant (past or current)
Are Criminal Records Public in Oregon?
Yes. Oregon criminal records are public records per the Oregon Public Records Law. Thus, interested persons may submit a request to view and obtain a copy of criminal records on any adult in Oregon. The Oregon State Police is the central custodian of criminal records in the state, and criminal records requests go to its Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division.
Despite this provision, there are situations where the record custodian may sequester criminal records from public access. This limitation is because releasing police records that are part of active criminal investigations may undermine investigators’ efforts. Worse still, releasing such records to the public may put a third party’s safety at risk. Suppose any of these concerns are not relevant at the time of the request. Then, a requester may access the criminal records of interest.
Criminal records, considered public in the United States, are made available through some third-party aggregate sites. Searching with third-party websites is often easier as the information is not limited to geographic record availability. Information found on third-party websites can serve as a jumping off point for parties searching for a specific record or multiple records. Typically, requesters must provide the following information to gain access to these records:
- The record subject’s name, unless the subject is a juvenile.
- The record subjects’ last known location, including cities, counties, and states.
Third-party websites offer these search services, but they are not government sponsored. Availability of records may vary.
How to Obtain Criminal Records in Oregon?
The Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division is the designated record custodian for criminal records in Oregon. Thus, public requests for criminal records go to this agency. Generally, there are three ways to obtain criminal records from the CJIS. For one, an interested person may visit the CJIS office in person or send a mail request. However, the fastest way to obtain a criminal record is to perform a criminal record search online.
An online search for criminal records is via the Open Records portal. There, interested persons may perform a name-based criminal records search on themselves or other persons. Criminal record search on other persons costs $10.00 per search. However, a personal criminal record search costs $33.00. A requester may opt to receive the report via snail mail or electronic mail.
Meanwhile, for in-person and mail requests, the requester may complete the appropriate request form. The CJIS provides separate request forms for personal criminal history search and third-party criminal history search. Then, the requester must prepare the appropriate payment, i.e., money order or check. Next, the requester encloses the application packet in a self-addressed stamped envelope and submits it in person or via US mail to the CJIS.
Oregon State Police – CJIS Division
P.O. Box 4395
Portland, OR 97208-4395
Phone: (503) 378-3070
All things considered, it takes up to fourteen (14) business days to process a criminal record request from the date of receipt. This processing time is because the CJIS must notify the third party who is the subject of the criminal record request. If the third party does not challenge the accuracy of the criminal record, the CJIS shall process the request depending on the volume of submissions. Thus, requesters who wish to submit a mail request must consider this processing time.
Requesters who cannot afford these criminal record search fees may still get the documents for free. One way is to request a fee waiver from the record custodian. Another way is to check free repositories on the web. However, the downside of checking third-party online repositories is that the accuracy of a free public criminal record check is not guaranteed.
What is an Oregon Arrest Record?
Oregon arrest records contain a summary of the subject’s arrest history. They provide information on whether a person has been questioned, detained, taken into custody, or held for investigation regarding a misdemeanor, felony, or any other offense. Arrest records aren’t evidence of guilt.
Arrest records contain general information such as:
- The full name of the arrestee
- The date the charges were filed
- Case type and case number
- Court Name
- Charge and offense
Note that persons who wish to obtain an arrest record often pay the nominal cost of copying the documents. It is possible to get a free arrest record, but the requester must either request a fee waiver from the record custodian or use online databases. The databases that provide free arrest records are very few. Then again, the completeness and authenticity of such arrest records from free databases are questionable.
Are Oregon Arrest Records Open to the Public?
Members of the public can access copies of arrest records, with a few exceptions. Access to arrest records in Oregon may be restricted for ongoing cases. Records may also be sealed to provide public safety or in cases where subjects are factually innocent. Arrest records are one of several police records compiled during criminal investigations in Oregon. While arrest records are included in police records, police records are not included in arrest records.
What is an Arrest Warrant in Oregon?
An arrest warrant in Oregon is an official document, issued and signed by a judge that authorizes law enforcement officers to arrest or detain the person(s) named in the warrant. Arrest warrants contain the name of the subject, charges behind the arrest, and the terms affecting when and where the arrest may be made.
Copies of publicly available arrest warrants are available from the agency authorized to execute the arrest warrant. Most of these agencies have a public database of active arrest warrants, and an interested requester may perform a name-based active warrant search. In the state of Oregon, the police can arrest a person for committing a crime even without a warrant. In most cases, this occurs if the officer witnesses a crime or has reasonable cause to believe an individual committed a crime.
What are Inmate Records in Oregon?
Oregon inmate records contain information about an offender’s current and past inmate status. A person who is in jail or considered an inmate has been deprived of their civil liberties while either awaiting trial or after being convicted. These people remain on a searchable online inmate lookup database. The Oregon Department of Corrections accumulates records on inmates’ names, incarceration dates, expected release dates, convicted offenses, and photos, which can be obtained, though not necessarily directly from the institution itself.
What is the Oregon Sex Offender Registry?
Oregon’s sex offender registry is a public online database of offenders convicted of sex crimes in Oregon. Residents of the state can access general information such as the offender’s name (and any known aliases), date of birth, address, and physical descriptors, such as scars and tattoos. It also details the charge(s) for which they were convicted as well as their offender status. Although registered sex offenders are not required to notify neighbors directly, they are required to register with the local sheriff or local law enforcement if they move into a new neighborhood. Neighbors can also sign up for email updates on the movements of sex offenders around them using the state’s public subscription service. Judges may also order an adult to register as a sex offender if the crime was sexually motivated.
What is a DUII in Oregon?
A DUII in Oregon is a serious traffic offense defined as driving under the influence of intoxicants. It refers to the crime of driving after ingesting substances that impair a driver’s physical or mental capacity. Generally, law enforcement officers identify impaired drivers following a routine traffic stop or if there is reasonable suspicion to believe the driver is impaired. Then, the officers shall conduct a breath or blood alcohol content (BAC) test. This chemical test determines the concentration of intoxicants in the breath or blood of a driver suspected of drunk driving.
Oregon DUII laws set the maximum legal DUI limit at 0.08 for an adult driver. A driver whose BAC is above this limit faces civil and criminal penalties. First, the Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicle Services (DMV) shall suspend the driver’s license for one year. The court shall also order the driver to pay at least $1,000 in fines and install an ignition interlock device. If there are aggravating factors, the court may also order the driver to complete a driver improvement program or a substance abuse treatment program. Furthermore, the DUI conviction remains a permanent record on the individual’s driving record.
What is a Misdemeanor in Oregon?
Misdemeanors refer to non-indictable offenses that are less severe than felonies. When sentencing a person for a misdemeanor offense, courts can impose jail time, fines, or both. Oregon’s state laws divided misdemeanors into four major categories based on the severity of the crime and penalty.
- Class A misdemeanors are punishable for up to 364 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $6,520
- Class B misdemeanors are punishable for up to 6 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,500
- Class C misdemeanors are punishable for up to 30 days and/or a fine of up to $1,250
- Unclassified misdemeanors where the penalties as specified in the particular statute
Examples of crimes that are considered misdemeanors in Oregon include
- Property theft less than $100
- Reckless driving
- Driving while suspended
- Assault in the fourth degree
- Disorderly conduct
- Resisting Arrest
- Carrying a concealed weapon
- Buying, furnishing, or providing alcohol to a minor
What are Felonies in Oregon?
A felony offense in Oregon refers to violations of the state’s criminal legislature that carries a minimum sentence of more than 1 year. Felony convictions are typically served in a county jail or state prison. Depending on the crime, a felony conviction may even be punished by death. Like most states, Oregon’s legislation divides felonies into multiple classes.
- Class A felonies carry the most severe penalties. Individuals convicted for crimes in this class, risk up to 20 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $375,000
- Class B felonies carry a penalty of up to 10 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $250,000
- Class C felonies carry a penalty of up to 5 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $125,000
Examples of felonies in Oregon include:
- Assault in the first degree
- Possession of an unregistered machine gun
Some felonies remain unclassified and come with their own maximum penalty. Unclassified felonies are typically the most serious types of crimes possible in the state, while class C felonies are considered the least serious. For instance, the penalty for aggravated murder is death or life imprisonment (with or without the possibility of parole). The court may also impose up to $500,000 in fines.
What are Parole Records in Oregon?
Parole records contain the official data of prisoners who have been released prior to the completion of their maximum sentence on the condition of meeting certain terms. Parole records are an official document that includes information regarding the release of a prisoner who agreed to certain conditions prior to the completion of their maximum sentence. While the prisoner is on supervised parole, the board shall require as a condition of parole that they pay a monthly supervision fee of not less than $30, unless the board agrees to accept a lower fee after determining the inability of the prisoner to pay. The board may also impose any conditions of parole it deems appropriate in order to ensure the best interests of the prisoner and the citizens of Oregon are served.
What are Probation Records in Oregon?
Probation records are official documents that show when a person receives probation as an alternative to prison. Probation allows people convicted of a crime in Oregon to serve their sentences out of custody, as long as they comply with probation conditions imposed by the judge and probation officer. Probation is issued in proportion to the crime, so the length and nature of probation differ (sometimes drastically) from case to case. Probation typically falls into three categories: minimally supervised, supervised and intensive. Intensive probation is a form of very strict probation that emphasizes punishment and control of the offender within the community.
What are Juvenile Records in Oregon?
Juvenile records in Oregon provide details regarding criminal activity committed by adolescents below the age of 18. The state of Oregon has no specific statute that defines when an age when a youth can be adjudicated delinquent. Crimes committed before the age of 18 may still remain under the jurisdiction of the Juvenile Court until the age of 25. While juvenile records in Oregon are protected from public view, they still remain open to inspection by a group of people, including:
- The name of the youth
- Parents or guardians of the youth
- Individuals intervening on behalf of the unit during a proceeding
- The DA’s office
- The Juvenile department
- Service providers on the case
- Judge of the juvenile court or persons working under the judge’s direction
Access to juvenile records isn’t as direct as public criminal records. In most cases, individuals or organizations seeking access to juvenile records may be required to obtain court permission. This will involve making a showing of good cause. Juvenile records may also be open to the public in cases where a juvenile is charged with a crime that would be a major felony if committed by an adult.
What are Conviction Records in Oregon?
A conviction record is an official document providing information that a person was found guilty, pleaded guilty, or pleaded nolo contendere against criminal charges in a civilian or military court. The criminal charges can be classified as a felony, misdemeanor, or other offense. A conviction also includes when a person has been judged delinquent, has been less than honorably discharged, or has been placed on probation, fined, imprisoned, or paroled. A criminal conviction is rendered by either a jury of peers or a judge in a court of law. A conviction does not include a final judgment that was deleted by a pardon, set aside, reversed, or otherwise rendered inoperative.
Oregon History and Accuracy of Criminal Records
The accuracy of the data of criminal records depends on the recordkeeping and technological capabilities of the jurisdiction where the record was assembled and later digitized. Oregon criminal records archives usually go back as far as the 1970s when criminal and arrest data started to be centralized and compiled into an organized database, much like we use today. Accuracy was more commonly affected by human error in the past, but in the 1990s, the quality and accuracy of recordkeeping improved exponentially due to the advent of the computer.
How to Find Oregon Criminal History Records Free
A criminal history record details an individual’s arrests, convictions, and incarcerations deposited in a city, county, or state repository as compiled by the government Law Enforcement Agencies or Criminal Justice Agencies of a specified region. An informal name for this document is the “RAP (Record of Arrests and Prosecutions)” sheet.
Oregon Public Records refer to data, which includes all government records of any kind, contains information about the conduct of public business, including but not limited to court records, deed records, and mortgages, prepared, owned, kept, and used for reference sake.
In Oregon, Criminal Records are public according to the Oregon Open Records Law, but a few exceptions exist to the access granted for public retrieval of such records. If the conditions are met by an individual, a business organization, or a law enforcement agency, these records are released for inspection or copy as the occasion demands.
Inspecting a criminal record; can be processed through the online portal set up by the Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division of the Oregon State Police, which is designated by law as the central repository for criminal offender information (ORS 181A.220). Interested individuals can perform a name-based search. To retrieve copies of criminal records, the requester can fill an online form. Depending on whether the request is being made for a personal record or a third party, there are separate forms (for personal and another individual) available for these. Responses will be delivered through U.S. mail or email to the requesting party, depending on the desired option.
The Criminal Justice Information Services Division makes the following available for public access as allowed under the law:
Open Record: This contains a copy of another person’s Oregon record, based on name only. During the process of filing the request, the requesting party fills the request form and two options may result in feedback. It is either the person who has no criminal/conviction record, or in a case where there is an existing criminal record, a 14-day waiting period is required so that the subject of this investigation is notified and allowed to review the information before release. The Oregon law provides to the public any record of conviction or arrest less than one year containing the details below:
- Date of Arrest
- The offense for which arrest was made
- Arresting Agency
- Court of origin
- Disposition, including sentence, imposed, date of parole, and its revocations, if any.
Note: A processing fee of $33 using checks, money orders, or a card (MasterCard, Visa credit, debit) is paid.
Copy of your own Oregon Record: An individual can request a copy of their criminal history record from the state or the FBI. In the case of demanding records from the FBI (Under 28 CFR 16.30-16.34), this is strictly allowed for personal review to obtain a change, correction, or update of the Record. The second option is to mail your request form to the CJIS Division of the State Police office. Details of requirements are contained on the request form. Also, note that for State and FBI requests, fingerprints are compulsory, with a fee of $33 paid for processing and $5.00 to notarize your Record, which by the requestor is often required.
In conclusion, criminal history disclosure is subject to the public records exemptions found in Oregon Law. The Attorney General maintains a catalog that details all the exemptions as stated in the Oregon Records Law, which is available for public reference.
Are Police Records Public in Oregon?
Yes, police records are public in Oregon according to the Oregon Open law ORS 192.314(1). However, it may also be considered a confidential record given the strict exemptions that impact public disclosure.
A police record details an individual’s prior confrontations with law enforcement officers.
The disclosure of these sorts of records may hamper investigative procedures. Hence, public disclosure is heavily regulated. Pursuant to the ORS 192.311 and 192.478 of the Oregon Public Records Law, the conditional exemptions(ORS 192.345(3)), are applicable only while investigations or prosecutions are ongoing by law enforcement, and afterward, disclosure of specific information might still be restricted for the public interest.
These exemptions apply not only to information gathered in the course of a criminal investigation but also to data compiled for ordinary everyday business, extracted in the course of the investigation. This also means that information that was in the custody of non-law enforcement but subsequently deployed for investigation is subject to exemptions under the appropriate conditions.
How to Obtain Police Records in Oregon
Police records in the state of Oregon are available to the public through several options:
Police Reports can be accessed at the requester’s Jurisdiction via Law Enforcement in City or County. This may be the first course of action for obtaining police reports, seeing as required documents are most likely available at the city or county level, through the City Police or County Sheriff’s office. Places like the City of Portland, Oregon City, Central Point City, City of Salem, and the City of Eugene, amongst others all have police departments with web portals and a public records office, where these requests are adequately handled.
Quick data searches can be carried out on certain websites owned by third-party organizations, in the custody of public information repositories, though they may not be “consumer reporting agencies” as defined by Fair Credit Reporting Act, 15 USC, or any state statute for that matter, meaning that the information may not be trusted 100%. These sites may simply afford you basic details about an individual.
There are designated custodians for public records. These custodians could either be public or private agencies, ranging from government agencies to law enforcement agencies, and other (government affiliate or non-affiliate) organizations.
The primary custodian of Police Records is the Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division of the State Police, Oregon; hence, access to these files would have to be through them. It is either a request is filed through the online portal, which would then be processed, and feedback back sent via email or U.S mail, or the requester can visit the division office to file a request for the records needed.
Are Police Reports Public Records?
Yes, Police Reports are public records in Oregon. A police report is a written document that details the circumstances and facts surrounding an illegal incident or accident, compiled after the incident by law enforcement personnel for future reference, especially to aid an investigation process.
There are three main types of police reports, namely:
- Incident/Crime report: This contains a general overview or information about a particular crime incident that has occurred, details like time of the event, location, involved person names, and nature of the incident, often documented by the respondent officers.
- Accident report: This document contains the details of an accident (mostly motor vehicle), with information about the victims involved, location, time, and often pictures of the scene are taken.
- Arrest report: These reports detail suspect information after an arrest. It is quite helpful for investigative purposes and contains data such as name, age, address, the reason for arrest, and other useful facts surrounding apprehension.
Police reports do fall within the category of public records. Particularly in the state of Oregon, police reports are accessible to the public. Just as is the case with other public records, police reports might have a few exceptions for disclosure, particularly with issues around the distortion of justice due to obstruction in an investigation. Certain individuals might be at risk due to the exposure of report details; hence, confidentiality is critical until a case has been concluded.
How to File a Police Report with Oregon Law Enforcement
To file a police report, an individual’s first course of action is to identify the law enforcement agency nearest to them and ensure that all the contact information is handy. In Oregon there are two main methods of filing police reports. The first is to use the online portal for filing based on your county/city, and note that not all crimes are online. For instance, in certain cities like Portland, the following crimes may be reported online:
- Burglary to Shed/Unattached Garage/Storage Unit
- Fraud other
- Fraudulent use of a credit card
- Hit and Run (non-vehicle property damage, non-injury)
- Hit and Run (Vehicle damage, non-injury)
- Identity theft
- Illegal dumping
- Theft of mail
- Theft of Vehicle parts and/or accessories
- Vandalism (Excluding Arson, Graffiti, & Gunfire)
These are some of the conditions, which qualify for an online report filing. Individuals can also place an emergency call to 911 or non-emergency at (503) 823-3333. Citizens can also file complaints by reporting in person at the city police department.
Where to Find Free Public Police Records
According to the Oregon Public Records Law, all government and law enforcement agencies are to make public records accessible to the citizens of the state at no cost. In situations whereby certain fees are required for record retrieval, it often is payment for the processing of such documents by the agency. This would also be largely dependent on the kind of information demanded and whether the requester seeks to inspect or copy. The quickest and easiest way to access information is to do an online search, where basic public records are available for user consumption. This may include a record of arrests, charges, name or any aliases, convictions, etc.
How to Find Mugshots in Oregon
A mugshot is a photograph of an apprehended or charged person captured by law enforcement for documentation and pictures shot from front and side perspectives. Mugshots are public records accessible by the public. The requester can simply visit the concerned law enforcement agency in the city or county to file for the Record or use the online databases to search for available copies. The Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division of the Oregon Police online portal contains relevant information.